Six months in: Still feel awful

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
drfaust

Six months in: Still feel awful

Post by drfaust » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:05 pm

So, I've been using CPAP for 6 months now and my sleep is just as bad as ever.

I was diagnosed in January with an RDI of 11.7, and my titration study indicated I needed a pressure of 8. Since then I've been 100% compliant and average 7 hours/night with my mask, and I think I have missed exactly one night. My average AHI reported by my machine is around .9, and my doctor couldn't be more pleased. He consistently tells me I'm "cured", even though I consistently tell him I feel horrible. He's tried raising my pressure, lowering my pressure, switching to APAP, and enabling the EPR. But now we're back to BiPAP at 8 with an EPR of 3. My ESS is still around 16, I have constant arousals throughout the night, I wake up most mornings with a pounding headache, and usually have to take the mask off and sleep another 2-4 hours (in addition to the 7-8 I sleep with the mask) in order to be functional enough to leave the house and go to work.

A curious thing is that in my original study, my actual AHI was only around 1.5. The rest of the events were RERAs, meaning that my breathing didn't actually stop -- it was just sufficiently difficult to breathe that I briefly aroused from sleep. This leads to sleep fragmentation, and subsequent fatigue.

I realize that the Airsense can try to categorize some sorts of events as RERAs, but without recording the actual EEG, it can't know, and based on sleepyhead data, it (almost) never records RERAs for me.