AHI below 5 but still feeling tired

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kiri

Post by kiri » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:08 pm

Hi, I'm new to the CPAP thing. I've been using my machine for 3 weeks. Usually I use my machine about 7 hours and have an AHI below 5. But when I wake up, I feel very tired. I take off my mask and have a nap without the mask for another few hours. My pressure is set between 8 and 9 cmh2o. Am I doing anything wrong? Should I increase the pressure to reduce AHI? When I increase pressure, I start having aerophagia and mask leaks..

Also, another problem, is I seem to get nasal congestion, and I've been tweaking the humidity and temperature to no luck. Any tips?

kiri

Re: AHI below 5 but still feeling tired

Post by kiri » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:12 am

Here is the CPAP data for last night, which I feel is a fairly representative night. Not sure how to interpret it.

ajack

Post by ajack » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:16 am

I would get the setup manual from http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-p ... tup-manual

you are hitting the maximum ceiling of pressure at 9.2, I would raise that to give the machine room to move,
I would raise the max to 12 and the minimum to 9, the median pressure. I would see how that goes.
If you turn down the EPR it may reduce the CA that may come with an increase in pressure, but if they aren't high, I'd leave it. They should settle on their own. New cpap users can have CA, as they get use to it.

Do you use a nasal mask? there could be some mouth breathing. Bonjour at the site above has a good mask link to information in his signature, the machine also has a mask fit function that will blow increased air pressure to test the mask, while you adjust it.

Julie

Post by Julie » Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:34 am