Newbie and all the anxiety

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
mamajess

Newbie and all the anxiety

Post by mamajess » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:34 am

hey friends! newbie here

I had a sleep study a few weeks ago and just got the full report from my doctor and it's not good. I've read several posts on the forum and I'm hoping someone can help make sense of all of this information.

Some background: I had two home studies (the first stopped recording after two hours so I had to do a second) I'm 36, a little chunky/overweight, and in good health. I've spent the last several years being shuffled from GI to other doctors because my old primary care doc felt I had digestive issues due to the waking up and choking. I've probably had 5 or 6 GI scopes (upper/lowers) and a battery of tests for celiac, food allergies etc. The doctors would think it was xyz issue, try that treatment and no improvement. I’ve found myself slipping into isolating myself from friends & family (turning into a total curmudgeon), severe brain fog, intense headaches and not to mention each night I’d terrify my husband because I’d stop breathing, wake up choking & gasping for air in my sleep. I never felt rested even though I could fall asleep anywhere with no problem, narrowly avoided being in some serious car accidents because I was in such a fog. I couldn’t remember anything, started sliding into a deeper depression, gaining weight, I was angry all the time and felt like I was losing my mind.

I had two home studies (the first stopped recording after two hours so I had to do a second) The second sleep study I ended up sleeping about a total of four hours over the night that was broken up because I was so uncomfortable and kept waking up.

Apnea Index: 42
Supine Apnea Index: 42
Non-supine Index: 45
209 obstructive apneas
154 hypopneas (shallow breathing incidents)