THIS MIGHT BE A SILLY QUESTION

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
BOBBY

THIS MIGHT BE A SILLY QUESTION

Post by BOBBY » Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:25 pm

I AM NEW TO CPAP,so i would like to know why do people use a hummidifier is it used to stop having a dry mouth and feeling thirsty all the time, BOBBY

Lana

Post by Lana » Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:34 pm

Dear Bobby,
There is no silly question about cpap, we are all in this together. I didn't know importance of having humidifier until I started having nose bleeds. My DME company told me on my first visit humidifier is optional! Imagine that. After descovering this forum and reading posts about people who have humidifier I have called my DME and requested one. Surprise, they didn't have problem giving me one. My nose doesn't bleed anymore but my mouth is still dry. I think its because at some point during the night I probably open my mouth and breath thru it. Anyhow, to answer your question, humidifier makes breathing more comfortable, it warms the air we breath in and thus prevents "drying out". That is my experience and understanding. Maybe other people have different view on this?
Sometimes, all I need is the air that I breathe!

rested gal

heated humidification

Post by rested gal » Sun Oct 17, 2004 1:12 am

Lana is so right about there being no such thing as a silly question in this therapy.