Any tips for preparing to travel without a humudifier?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
jpek

Any tips for preparing to travel without a humudifier?

Post by jpek » Mon May 22, 2017 4:15 am

I've been using an Auto CPAP for about two years now and in that time haven't traveled outside the US. But this year I'm planning a trip. I will take my CPAP but thinking about leaving the humidifier behind. Reason: it's lighter and less to pack, but mostly I'm not sure how easy it will be to buy distilled water where I'm going -- and I won't have a car to lug it home. I've never slept without a humidifier, and I'm not sure how to test if I'll be able to do it on a trip, especially taking climate and weather into account. Any advice anyone?

I did get an HME gadget (Heat Moisture Exchange). It's a little thing that fits between your mask and has a sponge that is supposed to trap the humidity of your own breath. I know that travel CPAP machines use it, but they're supposed to be universal. I have my doubts though. My Wisp mask has a fairly long (1 foot?, or longer) little tube that connects to the main tubing. The HME will have to sit at the end of that tube, where it joins the main tube. But that seems too far away from my face to capture moisture. Am curious if anyone has tried the HME with similar setups.

Julie

Re: Any tips for preparing to travel without a humudifier?

Post by Julie » Mon May 22, 2017 4:19 am

Don't worry abuot getting distilled water (but are you sure it's not available where you're going?) because many of us don't use it at times either. Tap water, unless it's known to be bad, can certainly be used short term (or even long term if you're prepared to clean your tank often) as the major problem is not that you need 'distilled' for you personally, but that the tank will become sludgy quickly. Just clean it when you get home.

Hannibal 2

Post by Hannibal 2 » Mon May 22, 2017 4:59 am