Why all the complaining?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
LilBuckaroo

Why all the complaining?

Post by LilBuckaroo » Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:20 pm

I have been "on the hose" since Jan 3, 05. I don't actually like it, but I have been thru worse things. I was diagnosed with a blood disorder in the mid '60's. At that time, I was a sophomore in high school. I spent some time in the hospital while it was diagnosed. Trust me, bone marrow samples are no fun!! As a result, I was put on prednisone. Made me blow up like a blimp!! Even males have some vanity!! Positive note though, it kept me out of the Army!!
Compared to that, CPAP, masks, etc. are a cake walk. I have had my share of mask leaks, machine problems, etc., but I tweaked them, and for now, all is fine. I have been tweaking things for years to get them the way that I want them to work. May have to tweak them again tonite, who knows or cares? Haven't slept so well in years. My sleep doc and DME are good people. Couldn't ask for better.
This is not a perfect world, so why expect perfection? My mask, an UltraMirage FF, was not custom made. I had to adjust the straps for a comfortable, leak proof fit. I must have it because there are times that I wake up during the night and wonder "where is that fool mask"? I touch my face, and say "there it is, you dumby".
My CPAP, an S7 Lightweight w/humidifier, set at 10, has an adjustment for the quantity of humidification. Sometimes, I run it on maximum for the benefit. Actually like the warm, moist air blowing on my face. Does wonders for my stopped up nose. Distilled water doesn't cost that much, and I would be using the electricity anyway to run the machine.
Alright, enough of my preaching, we have this condition and must learn to live with it!!! The alternative is not good either!!
So, good sleep and keep on PAPin'

wading thru the muck!

Post by wading thru the muck! » Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:27 pm

Herky,