Upgrading firmware for better data collection, Dreamstation

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
skanson

Upgrading firmware for better data collection, Dreamstation

Post by skanson » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:59 pm

So as many of us now, there are various models of the Phillips Dreamstation. The auto-CPAP model collects a whole lot more data than the normal 'brick' model.

Being a newbie, I purchased the normal CPAP model not knowing this and now I'm interested in quantifying my sleep apnea.

Anyway, my question.

If I upgraded my Dreamstation firmware to the auto-CPAP firmware, do you all think that would enhance the machine's data capability? I don't want to use my machine AS an auto, just want the upgraded data collection.

Would there be any risks or things to look out for if using the normal CPAP with Auto-CPAP firmware? (other than the normal risks of upgrading firmware).

Dunno if anyone has tried this, but there is info out there on how to tinker with the firmware on these devices:

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread ... ion?page=3

Would appreciate any advice

jtravel

Re: Upgrading firmware for better data collection, Dreamstation

Post by jtravel » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:38 pm

Their is good reason to believe that they have the same hardware and it's only the Firmware version that makes it a full time Auto instead of a 30 day trial auto.
You would however need access to the different firmware versions and whatever hardware interface they were using to download and update the firmware.
This is very common in many consumer electronic devices.
I have not seen the same type of interest however in hacking of Cpap Machines.
That is not to say that some are not doing it.

Goofproof

Post by Goofproof » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:50 pm

How many spare XPAPs do you have? I'd start by doing the one with the highest hours first, saving the lowest hour machine for last, that way you will still have one to use. Jim