Are these Sleep apnea symptoms?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
cpaptrini

Are these Sleep apnea symptoms?

Post by cpaptrini » Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:51 pm

Hi there,

So I've been using Cpap therapy for about five months now with some mixed results. I would say that I have felt much better most of the time, but I don't think I have felt 100% at any time. The last two weeks in-particular, I have noticed most of my old symptoms re-emerging to varying degrees, though not as severe as before I started CPAP. My sleepyhead data indicates that there has been an increase in air leaks over the past few weeks, so some of my re-emerging symptoms may be attributed to this. My AHI's are still showing below 3 or 4 though.

I am convinced that CPAP makes a difference in my day to day health, but I am still unsure if sleep apnea is the core cause of my symptoms. Before I started CPAP, I went for several rounds of blood tests, did X-rays and mammograms of my chest and organs. No issues were found. I'm wondering if any of you can tell me if the following symptoms are typical of sleep apnea, or if I may be dealing with something else.

My symptoms are: lacking of energy- not just fatigue you might feel from getting little sleep, but the low energy you might feel when fighting off a cold. My breath becomes hot and I take shorter breaths, especially when active. Easily increased heart rate, especially when active. Mental fogginess and sleepiness/yawning during day. And I also sometimes feel slightly Nauseous.

My symptoms feel very much like a cold, but without the sore throat, stuffy nose, runny eyes etc.

Do these symptoms I have described sound like they might be sleep apnea alone? Does anyone else experience these symptoms?

I'm a 35 year old male. I am diagnosed with severe sleep apnea - ahi of 120 plus.

Thanks.
Last edited by cpaptrini on Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

palerider

Re: Are these Sleep apnea symptoms?