ResMed S9 with 4S LiPo Battery and DC/DC Converter??

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
GTSSportCoupe

ResMed S9 with 4S LiPo Battery and DC/DC Converter??

Post by GTSSportCoupe » Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:59 am

Hi All. I am new here. I'm an electronics designer trying to help my cousin build a portable battery setup for his ResMed S9 CPAP machine. He needs a very light weight and efficient setup that will last for five days. He will be hiking part of a very long scenic trail and has been hired to do landscape painting along the way.

I had planned on simply using a generic DC/DC converter with some 4S 16Ah (12V-16.8V) LiPo Battery packs. As I've discovered reading here, the ResMed S9 units have an intelligent data bus in their power plugs, and thus only work with ResMed power supplies.

So, back to the drawing board as they say!

Easiest option would be to buy the ResMed DC/DC Converter (intended for 12V or 24V DC lead acid batteries). However, I'm unsure if these adapters will accept the voltage range of the LiPo Battery packs we bought (LiPo 4S 12V-16.8V range). I'm hoping someone with the adapter would be able to tell me if this is possible?

Second option would be for me to find an efficient inverter (that can accept the LiPo battery voltage input) and simply plug-in the ResMed AC Adapter. This is undesirable as it is less efficient. My understanding is the 90W adapter wastes a lot of power.

Third option is I could buy a used ResMed AC Adapter, rip it apart and use only the 'smart' component to trick the ResMed S9 into thinking I'm using an AC Adapter, but really I will piggy back my generic DC/DC converter on it to supply power.

Fourth option is to reverse engineer the ResMed power converter data bus and design my own circuit to talk to the ResMed. But I really don't have the time to do this right now, as I need to complete this in the next week or so.