Dreamstation Auto CPAP - Initial Impressions

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Justin Case

Dreamstation Auto CPAP - Initial Impressions

Post by Justin Case » Sat Apr 16, 2016 12:38 pm

I am creating this thread for those who like me who have had maybe 1 CPAP machine before and are perhaps considering this new machine as an upgrade.

I just started a 7 to 21 day trial right now using the Dreamstation Auto Cpap. I am coming from the workhorse, Remstar Pro Auto and this is my first attempt to provide a review, so forgive me if it is not as "professional" as others may post.

The first thing I noticed about this apparatus is it's size. It is several inches shorter in length from my 7 year old machine. However, it is definitely not as tall. The device including humidifier weighs much less than the Remstar Pro, but add the ridiculous heavy power adapter, it is only about 1 lbs less. There's really not much of a difference in almost a decade.

The Dreamstation is certainly quieter than my Remstar, but not a heckuva lot quieter. As far as the algorithm is considered, I can tell the machine is much more "smoother" in adjusting pressure than the Remstar.

As far as features goes, they simply are ok but the user interface is clumsy in my opinion. The light of the LCD is very bright and it takes a while to dim when not in use after touching the dial. I don't consider the interface intuitive at all. You have a rotary type dial and you search for you what you want. I am often confused when the humidifier is on or off. The preset heat is also confusing. Unlike my Remstar, I knew the humidifier was on because the humidifier had it's own separate led.