Can using CPAP cause you to roll onto your back?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Chakker

Can using CPAP cause you to roll onto your back?

Post by Chakker » Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:24 pm

It sounds like a silly question to me, but hear me out.
I am aware that sleeping on your back exacerbates snoring and sleep apnea. Well I have always slept on my side my whole life. On the VERY rare occasion I may roll onto my back but 99% of the time I would sleep on one side or the other. After being diagnosed with obstructive sleep apnea I have been using a CPAP machine for a little over 3 months now. I still always go to sleep on my side. However, starting about a week ago I'm waking up to find that I rolled onto my back at some point. The reason I'm asking if the CPAP may cause this, even though it wasn't happening for the first couple months, is that prior to this I've gone my whole life without sleeping on my back even two nights in a row.

Has anyone else had the CPAP change their sleep positioning habits?

Bergie51

Re: Can using CPAP cause you to roll onto your back?

Post by Bergie51 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:35 pm

I have always slept mostly on my side, partly because my wife says I snore much less that way. I've been using a nasal pillow CPAP now for about three weeks and have found it just more comfortable to sleep on my back. My nasal fit is more secure and, with the CPAP, I don't snore on my back anymore. So I don't think it's CAUSING me to roll onto my back, I just find it more comfortable.

MrKDilkington

Post by MrKDilkington » Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:59 pm

You can try the old tennis ball sewed in shirt trick but I think that works by waking you up. I use a Zzoma ($190) and it keeps my on my side without waking me up. It's expensive but works.

BlackSpinner

Post by BlackSpinner » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:14 pm