mild OSA but snoring?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
ShannonCC

mild OSA but snoring?

Post by ShannonCC » Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:06 pm

I'm new to all this so bear with me because I don't know all the lingo yet

I just got diagnosed with OSA. I talked to the doctor today. She said my apnea episodes were only 7 per hour, but I am waking 20 times per hour because I'm waking myself up with my snoring. I am only aware of waking up ever hour and a half or 2 hours (unless I have a good night!) but I understand that it's typical to wake so briefly you don't even notice so I guess that's me.

So, does anyone else here have mild OSA, but a more severe problem with snoring? The doctor said it was "interesting" lol! But most importantly, she thinks the machine will help with both that and the apnea episodes, so we're trying that (she said APAP, not CPAP though).

LSAT

Re: mild OSA but snoring?

Post by LSAT » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:09 pm

Fill in your equipment profile and let us know the pressure settings. Download sleepyhead software. CPAP definitely helps to eliminate snoring.

Last edited by LSAT on Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Julie

Post by Julie » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:18 pm

Do whatever you have can to not sleep on your back - it provokes more events (and snoring).

ShannonCC

Post by ShannonCC » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:27 pm

I don't have the machine yet, I just got the official diagnosis yesterday. I'm just wondering if there's anyone else who has snoring that has been helped by a CPAP or APAP. I wasn't aware that snoring on it's own, without apnea, could be an issue!

And Julie, I do try and sleep on my side and thought I was doing well but the sleep study said I was turning on to my back. I occasionally wake up on my back but I guess I'm doing it more than I thought. Huh.

Julie

Post by Julie » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:50 pm