New to CPAP Treatment - a bit lost

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Weej

New to CPAP Treatment - a bit lost

Post by Weej » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:28 pm

Hi all,

I went for a sleep study in a hospital that involved me wear a huge watch-like device with sensors on my chest and finger. The report showed that my AHI was 88, and i heard it was super high. (perhaps I was not used to hospital settings or the big watch device) And so the doctor recommended me to get the CPAP machine, and recommended APAP since it can auto adjust.

Buying it local cost 30-40% higher than online, so I got a brand new Resmed S9 Autoset with Humidifier, and a AirFit F10 (L) mask.

As I am new to this, here was my Setting:
Autoset Pressure 4 - 20
20 mins Ramp
EPR Full time level 0
27 degrees celcius
Humidity at 4.0

Mask: Sat upright, fitted the mask, Maskfit test OK. Laid down and start feeling some leaks at nose bridge area, adjust mask and tightened abit, still minimal leak.

Day 1: Woke up after 2 hrs feeling the leak at nose bridge and super dry mouth. Adjusted humidity to 4.5 and attempted to go back to sleep. Woke up again after 3 hrs, felt the leak at nose bridge and general discomfort. decided to stop machine. Reading: Mask fit failed, leak rate 66 L/min, 5.2. hours used AHI 8.0

Day 2: Fitted my mask, adjusted while lying down. Pressure: 4 -18, 30 mins ramp, 28 Degrees, 5.0 humidity. Woke up 2 hours later by the high pressure air flow, leaking at nose bridge. pressure got higher while i was awake, air was leaking at the bottom of mask. air was gushing into my mouth, blowing up my cheeks, gushing out of mask. Uncontrollable, hence stopped machine and removed mask to sleep. Reading: Mask fit Passed, leak rate 61L/min, 2.3 hours used, AHI 2.5

I have frequent sinus problems so i breathe through my mouth. Is it that the max pressure is too high? Perhaps i need to check on the data from SD card.

Is this treatment right for me?

Julie