Need Help Acclimating (UARS)

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
lindalam89

Need Help Acclimating (UARS)

Post by lindalam89 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:32 pm

Hi Everyone, I am new to the cpap forums and have been struggling to get help with my insomnia and UARS. I've been to many doctors and finally as of last year I was diagnosed with mild OSA, but I don't like that term, my sleep disordered breathing is closer to UARS. I wake up 23 times an hour to RERAS, but my AHI is extremely low. I've suffered with onset and maintenance insomnia since I was 11 and along the way I developed severe memory problems.

I feel like I hit a dead end and so I feel it is time I signed up to the forums and seek help outside of my medical network.

I've been trying to acclimate to my apap for over a year now. There isn't enough compliance data so the doctor and therapist cant say much about it. I was given all the common sense advice on how to improve sleep, such as sleep restriction but that actually makes things worse. I wake up to cardiac like events and lost cognition several times. My doctors dont believe me or atleast feel impotent but I dont think saying that is very helpful.

To move on... I need help with acclimation. I think I went over all comfort settings. i use a humidifier, wear ear plugs, sleep in a dark cool room. Have a hose cozy and cpap liner. I just dont know what to do. I am hypersensitive to noise. My sleep study also indicated that air conditioning noise severely broke my sleep architecture, sleep onset was extremely delayed and sleep efficiency was low.. i dont remember the number... something like I was only asleep for 3 hours, most of which was stage 1 sleep, zero delta.