Newbie here- need help

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Cubbieblue99

Newbie here- need help

Post by Cubbieblue99 » Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:46 am

Hi there. New to the forum. Dx'd with UARS about 3 yrs ago. Started with the dental device TAP and I tolerated it. Dud a home sleep study after I'd be on it a little while and sleep doc said it looked better but I still had daytime sleepiness so he switched me to CPAP. I've tried several masks over the past 2 yrs and none of them have worked. I am now using the Airmask P10 which is prob the best one out of the bunch but still have problems.

I am a stomach sleeper and have a CPAP pillow with sides cut out. I bought a CPAP but it was too thick so I had a seamstress cut out the sides of my flatter comfortable pillow. My issue is I can only sleep w it an hour or 2 and then I somehow take it off during in my sleep. I don't remember doing it but when I wake up in the morning it's off and I've turned the machine off. Sometimes it's even hard to fall asleep it at all as I feel I'm restricted to keep my head turned a certain way ave if I roll to the other side w my face the cord and mask bother me. So I'm been trying to get used to the CPAP for about 2 yrs now.

I've even tried the Provent and couldn't get used to not being able to exhale out of my nose. CPAP was much better as far as breathing. Sleep doc told me my setting me were fine on the CPAP. He's even tried nuvigil (gave me a headache) Abe Ritalin (which made me feel weird) to try to control the daytime sleepiness. My main issue is I have to take a 2 hr nap Everest after work which is messes up my evenings where is like to do other things.