Newbie - Assistance Required

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Kurtz

Newbie - Assistance Required

Post by Kurtz » Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:59 am

Hi Good day,

I am new to this, the forum and sleep apnea, Had my machine ( Resmed AirMed 10) for a few days 5 days to be exact.
Leaks seems to be my biggest problem I run the mask fit option before bed all is well but then in the morning the machine is telling me I had mask problems - one night it woke me other nights I slept through - the Leak # was between 40 & 50

I wanted to know the leaks that are not waking me but the machine is saying is bad - what can I do?
Also I read a few posts and everyone seem to have there AHI # under 5 - Mine has been steady at 14 odd and estimate sleep hours between 5 to 6 . Should I be worried or is it to soon

Full face mask btw.

Thanks in advance

Julie

Re: Newbie - Assistance Required

Post by Julie » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:09 am

Hi, a good idea would be to go to User Ctl Panel under Search bar on lt and hit Profile. Put in (text, not icons plse) full name of machine (I think you meant Airsense) and model #, plus if auto vs plain Cpap, etc. and mask name, as well as pressure settings and if you use a humidifier. All will then appear under your notes so we can see what you're using whenever you post (and try to stick to this thread vs new ones for each issue so we can track your story).

There are very many diff. masks out there (see Cpap.com for lots of info including how to trial them x 30 days for small fee) and you can try them - lying down, as your face changes then - to help find the right one and get it fitted properly.

Your AHI may be high if you lose the air through your mouth, so a FF mask is a good idea (and works well if you have a cold and need to mouth breathe). Once you have the mask sorted out (we've all had to go through a few before finding what works for us) leaks should improve and therefore AHI.

Pugsy