chin strap increase vibratory snore index?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
hegel

chin strap increase vibratory snore index?

Post by hegel » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:04 pm

I started using a chin strap (just tried the Ruby last night.) Looking for the first time in a while at my cpap card, there's been a big increase in my vibratory snore index starting about the time that I began using the chin strap. My AHI is fine however. Last night using the Ruby strap, my snore index was fine.

And so my question. Thoughts?

p.s. what's the relation between the snore index and ahi, that the one can go up without effecting the other?

SewTired

Re: chin strap increase vibratory snore index?

Post by SewTired » Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:34 am

I'm a newbie, but as with all things, one thing works better than another. I've noticed elsewhere that some folks had better luck with some chin straps than others. I'd stick with the one that works for you.

I noticed the vibratory snore on my brother's readout. It is not part of AH I because it is not an apnea. If he gets a lot of them, they do wake him up, because right afterwards, he's removed his mask. I've finally convinced him to throw that old mask away because it's worthless even as a backup (he was using it for 3 years).

Airsense For Her; Settings: range 8-12, Airfit P10 (M)

JDS74

Post by JDS74 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:04 am

It is possible that the chin strap is the cause of the snore index increase.
Chin straps have a tendency to move the jaw slightly backward and therefore slightly increase the occurrence of obstructive events. In your case, this may be the vibratory snore index increasing while it is not enough to actually cause either an hypopnea or an obstructive event. You might try increasing your pressure just a little bit to compensate and see if that helps. Just a thought.