What is your AHI?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
joeljjk11

What is your AHI?

Post by joeljjk11 » Wed May 20, 2015 1:47 pm

Hi - I just had an appointment with my sleep doctor and she said my AHI was far too high, along with me also having central apnea. She adjusted some settings on my machine and I am hoping it helps. Last night my AHI was 13.3, she said it should be 5 or lower.

What is your AHI usually? I am new to CPAP treatment so I did not know that it should be much lower.

Joel

palerider

Re: What is your AHI?

Post by palerider » Wed May 20, 2015 1:51 pm

joeljjk11 wrote:What is your AHI usually? I am new to CPAP treatment so I did not know that it should be much lower.
13.3 is horrible, 5 is pretty crap. I'm not happy unless mine is < 2, preferably < 1.5. last nights was .54

Accounts to put on the foe list: dataq1, clownbell, gearchange, lynninnj, mper!?, DreamDiver, Geer1, almostadoctor, sleepgeek, ajack, stom, mogy, D.H., They often post misleading, timewasting stuff.

kteague

Post by kteague » Wed May 20, 2015 1:54 pm

In general, <5 is considered acceptable. I personally want to see mine closer to 1. The idea is to achieve the best results with the least problems. Some settle for a little higher AHI if higher pressure cause problems. Ideally you can watch your machine data and adjustments can be made to optimize treatment. Do you know if your doctor looked at detailed machine data or just the AHI breakdown?

kaiasgram

Post by kaiasgram » Wed May 20, 2015 2:05 pm

joeljjk11 wrote:Hi - I just had an appointment with my sleep doctor and she said my AHI was far too high, along with me also having central apnea. She adjusted some settings on my machine and I am hoping it helps. Last night my AHI was 13.3, she said it should be 5 or lower.

What is your AHI usually? I am new to CPAP treatment so I did not know that it should be much lower.

Joel