Not Happy Newbie!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
LibbyLou

Not Happy Newbie!

Post by LibbyLou » Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:09 am

Hello - I'm new to CPAP and have been lurking around here for a bit and finally decided to sign up because I'm beyond frustrated with this whole experience so far.

I suspect that maybe I've had issues for years that were just never diagnosed, as I honestly can't remember ever waking up feeling especially refreshed. But in May of 2013, after a bout with strep throat (that I didn't go to the doctor for, not smart, I know), everything just went haywire. Long story short, after a bunch of bloodwork that didn't show much except for a Vitamin D deficiency and a slightly positive ANA (which is now normal), many repeat primary care doctor visits and a visit to a rheumatologist, I finally had a sleep study done in June of 2014. It showed that I had 72 RERAs, zero apneas and zero hypopneas, and I was diagnosed with mild OSA. I dragged my feet on the CPAP for a while, researching other things like silent reflux (I found out I had reflux recently as well, never knew it) and nasal obstructions that could be fixed with Breathe Right strips, etc. but nothing was helping me feel more rested, so I finally went and picked up the CPAP for an auto-titration in February, and was given one for the 90 day insurance compliance period a little over 2 weeks ago.