hearing the radio through my CPAP

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kwpdx

hearing the radio through my CPAP

Post by kwpdx » Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:22 pm

I've been using a CPAP for 8-9 years now with no unusual issues that most of us don't have to deal with. Then a couple of months ago I started waking up early in the morning hearing things: music, sportscasts, news. After running through all of the possibilities I did a Google search and discovered this site, and found that other people have experienced this before. A lot of the responses involved mind-altering substances and "voices in the head" (not helpful.) My question is, what can be done to prevent it? Just knowing what it is helps, but I'd like to know if there's a way to prevent this radio interference. The episodes only last 10-15 minutes, so I wonder what exactly causes this.

Wulfman...

Re: hearing the radio through my CPAP

Post by Wulfman... » Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:35 pm

kwpdx wrote:I've been using a CPAP for 8-9 years now with no unusual issues that most of us don't have to deal with. Then a couple of months ago I started waking up early in the morning hearing things: music, sportscasts, news. After running through all of the possibilities I did a Google search and discovered this site, and found that other people have experienced this before. A lot of the responses involved mind-altering substances and "voices in the head" (not helpful.) My question is, what can be done to prevent it? Just knowing what it is helps, but I'd like to know if there's a way to prevent this radio interference. The episodes only last 10-15 minutes, so I wonder what exactly causes this.
I saw your post in that old thread, so now I'll ask you what I meant to earlier......
I remember the discussion at that time.

What specific CPAP hardware are you using?
And, were you receiving AM or FM broadcasts?

Inquiring minds want to know.......

Den