My prescription clusterf**ck; DME doesn't take my insurance.

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JV1967

My prescription clusterf**ck; DME doesn't take my insurance.

Post by JV1967 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:19 pm

So, I called the doctor's office to find out who my DME is, and the secretary said "Oh, don't worry, they'll call you." I decided to call the DME, to see what's going on, and to ask a few questions, as I'm new to all of this. I found out that the DME they sent me to doesn't accept my insurance, so now the rep has to call the doctor's office back and tell them to send me elsewhere. Meanwhile, the secretaries at the doc's office aren't exactly great about picking up the phone, so the wait... and I have very good health insurance (Blue Cross) in the state I live in. The DME they sent me to is one state over. Is it common for this to happen when the DME is not in your state? Thankfully the rep there was nice to me on the phone. It eased some stress.

I've been through some heavy medical drama, sans this apnea problem, so this is frustrating me more. I'm eager to get started on my therapy; as soon as possible, because I want to get well. I hope they get this sorted so I can get my ASV, and get on with learning it, adapting to it, etc...
AirCurve10 ASV Bilevel, with Humidifier. F&P Simplus FFM. Using Sleepyhead software.

Huh?

Re: My prescription clusterf**ck; DME doesn't take my insurance.

Post by Huh? » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:24 pm

Get a copy of your prescription from the doctor (you should keep one in your records anyway) and use whatever DME you want. You don't need a damn doctor's referral to a DME.

squid13

Post by squid13 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:26 pm