ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Mike123

ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset

Post by Mike123 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:58 pm

I got a new unit a week ago it's an ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset. I've been using a ResMed Escape for the last 6 years so I'm not new to CPAP at all. What I'm finding with the AirSense 10 is that I have my inhalation echoed to me from the machine. It's very disconcerting to hear your own breathing when you're trying to get to sleep. The only time this happened on the Escape was when the humidifier lid was not closed properly. That is not the case this time. Thinking it was a problem with the unit I took it back and another unit does exactly the same thing. Surely this is a design issue as the Escape does not do it and the unit I used at my last sleep study did not do it either. Does anyone else have this problem? If so, is there a solution?

englandsf

Re: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset

Post by englandsf » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:06 pm

What were your pressure and other related settings on the old machine and are they totally identical on the new one? Have you tried or did you use EPR?

Greg Riddle

Post by Greg Riddle » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:07 pm

I used an s9 escape before and it was quieter than the aircurve vpap auto. I assumed it was because of the higher pressure during inhale. 13 on the s9 and 23 on the aircurve. It may be the design of the machine

TangledHose

Post by TangledHose » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:17 pm

My Airsense AutoSet is quieter than my S9 was by just a little bit. I run my pressure up to 13.4 cm and have not heard anything like you describe. Most other posters here with the Airsense have also indicated that the new machine is quiet.