new to Cpap

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
IrisofNY

new to Cpap

Post by IrisofNY » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:14 pm

Hi All,
I am new to CPAP and am so grateful to have found this group. My Dad died from severe sleep apnea and I think I've had it my whole life. My sleep study AHI was 58 and the last 3 nights were bet 5-6. My 3 nights with the machine (PR system one autopap with heated humidifier series 60) weren't as tough as I expected - actually used it for over 9 hrs each night. I have been somewhat of a mouth breather but wanted to avoid a FFM because of claustrophobia and sensitive skin. The DME gave me a nasal wisp mask, the only mask without forehead straps that she had.
I have a few questions I hope people can help me with.
1. The first is that I am so much more exhausted since Cpap, having trouble getting out of bed and falling asleep during the day which I've never done before. Any predictions when this exhaustion might stop?
2. I'm having trouble falling asleep: feel like I'm not getting enough air, getting stuffy, hate the smell of the mask and need to yawn which causes the air leaking out of my mouth.
3. Also having trouble falling back to sleep with surge of cold air into my nose and then mouth. I set the humidifier to 3 last night (from 2) and a lot of moisture was in the mask but not the hose. My bedroom is cool at night - 64 degrees and I was wondering if I should get the heated tube instead of what I have.
4. I downloaded sleepyhead but there isn't any data on the SD card other than hours used, 90% pressure and AHI. I'd really like to see what is going on during the night to maximize treatment and comfort.
I would appreciate any help or suggestions from you guys. I need this to be successful and get my energy back.
Thanks!

Krelvin

Re: new to Cpap

Post by Krelvin » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:24 pm

Welcome to the forum!