Getting cool air

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Old Vet

Getting cool air

Post by Old Vet » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:41 pm

I wash my tube, mask and tub once a week an only used distilled water. I only want cold air when I sleep. I found through trial and error that filling my breather tub with distilled water midway and immediately putting it in my freezer works great! I've been doing this for over two years with no negative results.
After two tours in Viet Nam I got tired of warm, humid air and hate humidity to this day because of that experience.
So, for me, breathing cold air is wonderful and allows me to sleep quite comfortably.
I have a Resmed CPAP machine.
Good luck and I hope it works for you as well as it has for me!

cnaumann

Re: Getting cool air

Post by cnaumann » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:55 pm

Do you freeze the water solid? I would be a little concerned about cracking the tub.

Interesting idea. Glad it is working for you.

mtman17

Post by mtman17 » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:40 am

My tub has never cracked and it's works great for me. As a matter of fact the VA just gave me a brand new water tub and it appears to be even more sturdier than the last one.

englandsf

Post by englandsf » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:51 am

Tried ice in the tub but it made the humidity too low even for me. Do not use hose heat and only a little humidity during winter months seems to work for me.

Each one of us needs a different combo, no doubt

palerider

Post by palerider » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:23 am

mtman17 wrote:My tub has never cracked and it's works great for me. As a matter of fact the VA just gave me a brand new water tub and it appears to be even more sturdier than the last one.
one wouldn't expect it to crack the tub anymore than ice cubes crack the ice cube tray.

water expands when freezing, but it'll expand upwards in a humidifier tray.

that explains why your tub's never cracked