Help to adjust

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Dogjudge

Help to adjust

Post by Dogjudge » Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:23 pm

Sorry if this is a repeat, but I've gone through things and can't find an answer that fits.

I'm fairly new at this, so I realize that I have a lot to learn.

Got my CPAP machine about 6 weeks ago. After about a week, things were getting better and then after another few days everything went south. I'm waking up about every hour. I'll go back to sleep some times in 15 minutes, but some times it will take an hour and a half. When I go back to sleep, I sleep for maybe an hour.

Earlier in the week I went to the doc and he was telling me how great things were. AHI on my machine says six, but he said it was under 4. Don't know what there was a difference.

When I complained about waking every hour, he said that the pressure might have been adjusted too high and that when I'd go into REM sleep the pressure goes up and that what was waking me up. Don't know how to read pressures on a REMstar Auto A-Flex.

With the new setting for a couple of days, I'm still waking up about every hour, some times it might extend to an hour.

For anxiety issues, I've taken klonopin when needed for anxiety issues. Well aware of the health issues associated with it. Both my GP and the psych doc said that I could use the klonopin to help me sleep. I have totally stayed away from klonopin since I was diagnosed with sleep apnea maybe 4 months ago because I didn't want to screw up the sleep studies and I didn't want to screw up any numbers that I would have for the evaluation of where my machine was set.

At this point, I'm truly frustrated about not getting much sleep.

Whew. Now the question.