9 Years of APAP and now BPAP is recommended

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Rastaman

9 Years of APAP and now BPAP is recommended

Post by Rastaman » Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:26 am

I have been using an S8 Autoset Vantage by Resmed for about 9 years now. Originally, I had a Respironics CPAP plus or something like that which had data capabilities. But I got good advice here and had it replaced at my Sleep Doctor's office and have used it ever since. Originally, my 90% pressure was 13. When my original sleep doctor gave me an APAP they set it for 4 to 20 cm's of pressure but I got better advice here and have it set for 10 to 16 currently. Most days I sleep very well. I don't notice the machine waking me up or anything like that.

Well, this Spring I was in the hospital for a little over a month and a sleep doctor shared an office with my pulmonologist and happened to see me in the hospital. I had already met my out of pocket for the year and I hadn't had a sleep study in years now. Also, I hadn't had anything covered by insurance in years. I just used my medical savings card and purchase from cpap.com usually for basic supplies. Well, I had a split night study that turned into two nights. My sleep doctor doesn't have her own sleep lab but she's right across the street from the hospital's facilities here in Austin. After my first night I never got to use the cpap on the first night so they scheduled me to come back a second night. Did that. Results were inconclusive. I take some different medications right now that can affect things but not every night. Not sure how I could've been inconclusive on the 2nd night but I tried a full face mask that night when I normally sleep with a nasal Comfort Gel Original.