ResMed EPR: Could it be worsening my sleep?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Sleep Celebrity

ResMed EPR: Could it be worsening my sleep?

Post by Sleep Celebrity » Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:21 pm

I'm a newbie, please be gentle.

I've been using CPAP for about a year and a half. I was diagnosed with moderate to severe apnea, about 60 AHI. I'm below 5 most nights with my CPAP, and I feel absolutely terrible on the rare occasions that I'm without it. It's definitely made a positive difference.

However, I've become increasingly convinced that EPR (http://www.resmed.com/int/patients_and_ ... c=patients) is affecting the quality of sleep I get. When I was in the process of tracking down my breathing issues, I was examined by an allergist. She gave me a test to determine my lung capacity and airflow, and while I've got normal lung capacity, my airflow's pretty limited. I breathe much more slowly than most people.

With my device, when I wake up, I feel like I'm hyperventilating, and the EPR feels like it's rushing my breathing. Sometimes my chest hurts a little.

Here's a screenshot from SleepyHead that seems to correlate with what I'm feeling: Image. My breathing rate slows and tidal volume increases dramatically around 6 am, when my girlfriend wakes up. I usually wake up and try to doze a while, since she goes to work before I do, so this represents my waking breathing rate and volume.

Should I just turn EPR off? Is there a way to slow it down? I like the idea of the feature, but need it slower, to suit my body.

Wulfman...

Re: ResMed EPR: Could it be worsening my sleep?

Post by Wulfman... » Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:30 pm

Sleep Celebrity wrote:I'm a newbie, please be gentle.

I've been using CPAP for about a year and a half. I was diagnosed with moderate to severe apnea, about 60 AHI. I'm below 5 most nights with my CPAP, and I feel absolutely terrible on the rare occasions that I'm without it. It's definitely made a positive difference.