Cheyne Stokes questions and my graph

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
zeropoint101

Cheyne Stokes questions and my graph

Post by zeropoint101 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:03 am

Ok.. total noob to my Auto PAP machine and sleep apnea(well I know the basics, but I just got diagnosed and got a machine so I'm new to being a patient). I'm trying not to be the guy who knows just enough to be dangerous, but.. I wanna ask anyway. I've been reading up on everything I can. I had a good AHI the first night(2.9) as opposed to my 25.1 AHI on my test. The 2nd night was 17, and the 3rd was 28 and I have a lot of "Clear Airway Apneas" which I've read most likely means central apnea. On reading about central apnea, I've been reading about Cheyne-Stokes breathing and a large chunk of the waveforms in my flow rate look like they were copied straight off the pages where I'm reading about Cheyne-Stokes with example waveforms. Can someone tell me what they think of my graph here in regards to Cheyne-Stokes? And if I DO have that, does it mean I actually have a nervous system problem? Or is my body/brain just adjusting to the cpap or what? Image

Pugsy

Re: Cheyne Stokes questions and my graph

Post by Pugsy » Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:50 am

No, it doesn't necessarily mean that something horrible is going on neurologically. It could simply be that you are one of a small percentage of people who develop Complex Sleep Apnea as a result of cpap therapy.
Your AHI the first night was less than 3 so we know that you likely didn't have this pattern the first night of therapy but it's here now and I suspect the AHI is high with a lot of Clear Airway (central) events. I don't know if this is a result of changing the humidification mode or would have happened anyway...more detective work is needed.

I responded in your other thread with some questions and a request for additional report images.