VETERANS, are you here?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Sleepy Veteran

VETERANS, are you here?

Post by Sleepy Veteran » Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:13 pm

I'm new to this whole sleep apnea thing, but not new to the V.A. so after being "issued" my new CPAP gear I thought I'd poke around a bit online and see what I could see.
That led me here to this community, so HELLO!

Just wondering if there are any other sleep deprived Vets like myself here and how the V.A. is treating you?

Maybe we could compare notes and ,(forgive my newness around here), if there isn't already a veterans CPAP group, maybe we could start one?

I have to be straight up. With all the negative stories in the news about the V.A. lately, my personal experience hasn't been totally bad.
The Tampa Florida, ((James A. Haley) Veterans Hospital and the clinics have for the most part been pretty good. Navigating the red tape......well that's another story.
Pretty much like like being back on active duty back in the 60's-70's , but once you manage to get past that, the treatment is good.

They diagnosed my sleep apnea damn quick and had me back in the out-patient clinic as an "emergency" within a couple of days.
Handed me the results of my sleep study and really shocked me.

Apnea / Hypopnea Index: 70 ......(YES that's right SEVENTY EVENTS PER HOUR !)
I was told that 15-30 is considered "Severe" so I can only imagine what the Doc's said when they saw my test results

Lowest SaO2 (Oxygen Saturation): 73% (No wonder I've had no energy!)

My prescription also said: "Please perform a follow-up oximetry once the patient is compliant with using the equipment, or is dead"