Newly diagnosed CSA - waiting & what to do in meantime?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
mossytreesprite

Newly diagnosed CSA - waiting & what to do in meantime?

Post by mossytreesprite » Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:10 pm

Hello,
I've had sleeping problems for over a decade, I gyrate my arms or hold them aloft, I mumble, scream, grind my teeth, and have frequent nightmares and paralysis, but over the past couple of years I've had such excessive daytime sleepiness, the ability to stay awake felt completely out of my control, which is quite a frightening feeling. I should have gone to the sleep doctor a long time ago, but I kept thinking it was just my fault for not being able to concentrate - that I should've just worked harder. I work as a scientist, so it's important that I am able to use critical thinking skills, but those have just not been present for quite sometime and it has definitely impacted my job. I did a take-home sleep test last week, and I was surprised (and honestly, kind of relieved) to find out that I have severe central sleep apnea (AHI of 31) and oxygen levels dipping to 60. I'm relieved to know that there is a real problem that has solutions - it's definitely taking a weight off of my constant feeling of being a failure.