Idea for a monitoring device (does this exist?)

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
GM

Idea for a monitoring device (does this exist?)

Post by GM » Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:10 am

From the Googling/cpaptalk reading I've done and also from what my physician tells me, the kinds of devices to fight different types of sleep apnea are limited to roughly:
1. "Breathing assistants" CPAP, BiPAP, EPAP, etc. With or without mask.
2. Oral appliances you put in your mouth to physically keep airway unobstructed.
3. others I don't know of?

These devices mostly make it easier for you to live with the symptoms of apnea, but they don't actually treat it. And to be honest, they're pretty horrible to use in my opinion.

That got me thinking... Since sleep apnea is basically a malfunction of the brain's respiratory control system during sleep (AKA you "forget" to breathe), wouldn't it be more logical to try to train/condition your brain to sleep?

I'm an electronics engineer by trade and I was imagining a tiny device, which detects when you stop breathing. Think of something along the lines of a baby sleep monitor sensor pad for adults. What if such a device could "poke" you/vibrate or somehow alert you of a long breathing pause? Not by physically helping you breathe like xPAP devices do, but just by alerting you? The first nights would probably be horrible, since the device keeps waking you up all the time. But what if it would train/condition your brain in the long run to keep breathing while asleep?

Has this ever been researched or tried?

zoocrewphoto

Re: Idea for a monitoring device (does this exist?)

Post by zoocrewphoto » Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:01 am

GM wrote:From the Googling/cpaptalk reading I've done and also from what my physician tells me, the kinds of devices to fight different types of sleep apnea are limited to roughly:
2. Oral appliances you put in your mouth to physically keep airway unobstructed.